difference between z

Differences between Schengen Countries and EU Countries

Differences between Schengen Countries and EU Countries

When it comes to traveling in Europe, there are a few different options to choose from. The Schengen Agreement allows for visa-free travel among 26 European countries, while the European Union (EU) is a supranational organization that includes 28 members. There are some key differences between these two options, which can impact your travel experience. Here’s a look at some of the key differences between Schengen Countries and EU Countries.

What are Schengen Countries?

Schengen countries are a group of European nations that have agreed to allow the free movement of citizens within their borders. Schengen countries are typically members of the European Union and have signed the Schengen Agreement, which establishes the Schengen Area. Schengen countries have also implemented the Schengen Visa, which allows citizens of Schengen countries to travel freely within the Schengen Area.

The Schengen Area includes 26 countries, 22 of which are members of the European Union. The four non-EU Schengen countries are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. Schengen countries share a common goal of promoting the free movement of people and goods within Europe. Schengen countries also cooperate on matters related to security and crime prevention.

What are EU Countries?

EU countries are a group of 28 nations that are located in Europe. These countries have come together to form a political and economic union. The EU countries are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

Together these countries have a population of over 500 million people. The EU countries work together in many different areas such as trade, transportation, and environmental protection. They also use a common currency called the Euro. EU countries have made it easier for people to travel and live in different parts of Europe.

Differences between Schengen Countries and EU Countries

Schengen countries are a subset of EU countries that have agreed to allow free movement of people between them. Schengen countries have eliminated border controls and passport requirements for travel within the Schengen area. In contrast, EU countries have retained their own national border controls and passports requirements. Schengen countries are also subject to additional Schengen-specific rules related to visas, entry/exit requirements, and other areas. Despite these differences, both Schengen countries and EU countries are members of the European Union and share many common features, such as a common currency (the euro) and common trade and travel rules.


The Schengen Area is a region in Europe made up of 26 European countries that have abolished passports and all other types of border control at their mutual borders. While the Schengen Agreement allows for free movement between these countries, there are still some differences between the Schengen Countries and the EU Countries. For example, Malta is both a member of the Schengen Area and the European Union, but it is not part of the eurozone. Similarly, Cyprus is an EU country, but it does not belong to the Schengen Area.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email