difference between z

Difference between Doric and Ionic Architecture

Difference between Doric and Ionic Architecture

Ionic vs. Doric Architecture

What is Difference between Doric and Ionic Architecture? The Greek architecture is delineated by three main styles: Doric, Ionic and Corinthian. These three styles have several distinctive elements; however, the most recognizable distinctions are found in the columns. Each column consists of a base, a central axis and a capital. The columns support the entablature, which includes the frieze. The entablature alternately supports the triangular pediment, i.e. the roof.

Difference between Doric and Ionic Architecture

Here’s the difference between two of the most popular Greek architectural styles: the Ionian order and the Doric order.

The Doric style in the columns is the oldest and of the three types mentioned above, is the simplest. Doric columns were predominantly predominant during the 7th and 5th centuries BC. This style was developed in western Greece.

A distinctive feature of Doric order columns is the fact that they have no basis. They are short, sturdy and heavy. The height is only four to eight times the diameter of the column. The axis of the same is striated, usually with 20 flutes, while the capital is simple and flared.

This type of column is characterized mainly by its simplicity and its lack of decorative elements. The entablature is divided into three horizontal registers. The bottom is smooth or divided by horizontal lines. The frieze is divided into triglyphs and metopes. A triglyph is a unit consisting of three vertical stripes that are separated by grooves. The moths are flat or carved reliefs.

The Ionian order originated in eastern Greece, around the 6th century BC. The c Ionic olumnas usually the highest and thin of the three types. The main distinguishing feature of the Ionic column is the scrolls at the top. These are often called parchments.

The Ionic columns have thin, striated pillars with a large base and two opposing scrolls (scrolls) in the capital. The Ionic axis has 24 flutes, compared to 20 in the Doric column. The shaft tends to be thin at the top and wider at the bottom. The shaft height is generally eight diameters.

The architrave of the Ionian entablature consists of three stepped bands called fascias. In comparison with the columns of the Doric order, the Ionic frieze does not have the triglyph and metope. In contrast, the frieze of the Ionian order usually has continuous ornaments, such as figures carved in bas-relief; related to historical events or myths. The Key difference between Doric and Ionic architecture are Doric architecture is older and simpler than the Ionian. The Ionic architecture contains more ornamental elements than Doric.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email