difference between z

Difference between STLC and SDLC

Difference between STLC and SDLC

There are many different software development life cycles (SDLC) and project management software testing life cycles (STLC) models. The two most common ones are the waterfall model and the spiral model. In this blog post, we will be discussing the difference between STLC and SDLC. Stay tuned!

What is STLC?

STLC is the software testing life cycle. It’s a process that includes the various stages of software testing, from the initial planning to the final implementation. STLC helps to ensure that software is of high quality and meets the needs of the customer. The stages of STLC are:

– Requirement gathering: In this stage, the requirements for the software are gathered from the customer.
– Planning: In this stage, the testing team creates a plan for how they will test the software.
– Implementation: In this stage, the actual testing of the software takes place.
– Results analysis: In this stage, the results of the tests are analyzed and any bugs or issues are identified.
– Reporting: In this stage, a report is created detailing the results of the tests and any issues that were found.
– closure: In this stage, all outstanding issues are resolved and the software is ready for the final release. STLC is an important process that helps to ensure that software is of high quality and meets customer expectations.

What is SDLC?

SDLC, or software development life cycle, is a process used by developers to create and maintain software applications. SDLC includes several different stages, including planning, designing, coding, testing, and deploying. The goal of SDLC is to produce high-quality software that meets the needs of users. To achieve this goal, developers must follow a carefully defined process. By breaking down the software development process into smaller steps, developers can ensure that each stage is given the proper attention. This helps to prevent errors and makes it easier to track progress. As a result, SDLC provides a roadmap for developing high-quality software applications.

Difference between STLC and SDLC

STLC and SDLC are two different methodologies that are used in software development. STLC stands for software testing life cycle, while SDLC stands for software development life cycle. The main difference between STLC and SDLC is that STLC is focused on testing and quality assurance, while SDLC is focused on software development itself.

STLC consists of six phases: planning, analysis, design, implementation, testing, and deployment. SDLC, on the other hand, only has four phases: planning, development, testing, and deployment. STLC is more comprehensive than SDLC because it includes additional steps to ensure quality assurance. While STLC is not required for all software development projects, it is recommended for projects that require a high level of quality assurance.


The software development life cycle (SDLC) is a process that outlines the stages that software goes through from inception to completion. The SDLC is often divided into five phases: planning, analysis, design, implementation, and testing. Each phase has specific tasks that need to be completed in order for the software to be successfully developed and released. In contrast, the systems test life cycle (STLC) encompasses only the testing stage of the SDLC. This article has outlined the main differences between STLC and SDLC.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email