difference between z

Difference between NEC and IEC

Difference between NEC and IEC

When it comes to electrical wiring and safety, there are two major governing bodies: NEC and IEC. NEC is the National Electrical Code, which is set by the US government, while IEC is the International Electrotechnical Commission, which is an international organization. There are some key differences between these two codes that professionals should be aware of. In this blog post, we will outline the main differences between NEC and IEC, so that you can make the right choice for your next wiring project. Stay safe!

What is NEC?

  • NEC (National Electrical Code) is an American National Standard for the safe installation of electrical wiring and equipment. NEC is published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). It is updated every three years and is available for free online. NEC covers both residential and commercial installations. NEC is NOT a law, but many localities have made it mandatory.
  • NEC is a minimum safety standard; meeting NEC does not guarantee that an installation will be safe or code-compliant. NEC is divided into eight chapters: Administration, Wiring Methods and Materials, Equipment for General Use, Special Occupancies, Special Equipment, Communication Systems, Tables, and Indexes. The first chapter covers topics such as definitions, general requirements, and inspection. The second chapter covers topics such as raceways, cables, boxes, and Conduit Bodies. The third chapter covers general use equipment such as switches, outlets, and luminaires (lighting fixtures).
  • The fourth chapter covers special occupancies such as kitchens and bathrooms. The fifth chapter covers special equipment such as elevators and solar photovoltaic systems. The sixth chapter covers communication systems such as telephone and data lines. The seventh chapter contains NEC tables such as requirements for outdoor wiring. Finally, the eighth chapter provides an index to NEC rules.

What is IEC?

IEC is an international organization that develops and publishes standards for a wide range of products and services. IEC standards are voluntary, but they are often adopted by countries as national standards. IEC standards cover a broad range of topics, including electrical safety, energy efficiency, and product testing. IEC also offers certification and conformity assessment services. IEC certification ensures that products meet the requirements of IEC standards. IEC conformity assessment includes both product testing and factory inspections. IEC standards are developed through a consensus-based process, which means that all interested parties have a chance to participate in the development of the standards. IEC is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland.

Difference between NEC and IEC

NEC and IEC are two standards that are often used in the electrical industry. NEC stands for National Electrical Code, while IEC stands for International Electrotechnical Commission. NEC is a set of guidelines that are followed in the United States, while IEC is an international standard that is followed in many other countries. Both NEC and IEC have different requirements for electrical installations, so it is important to be familiar with both standards. NEC is updated every three years, while IEC is updated every four years. NEC focuses on safety, while IEC focuses on quality and reliability. As a result, NEC is often seen as the more stringent of the two standards.


The NEC and IEC are two important electrical safety standards that every business should be aware of. The NEC is the standard in the United States, while the IEC is the standard throughout most of the world. Understanding the difference between these two standards can help you ensure your products are compliant with global regulations.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email