difference between z

Difference between FQHC and RHC

Difference between FQHC and RHC

There are many types of healthcare facilities available to patients, and it can be confusing to understand the difference between them. In this blog post, we will explore the distinctions between FQHCs and RHCs. We will also discuss the benefits of each type of facility for patients. By understanding the differences between these two types of healthcare providers, patients can make an informed decision about which is best for their needs.

What is FQHC?

FQHC is an acronym for Federally Qualified Health Center. FQHCs are community-based health care providers that serve underserved populations. FQHCs receive federal funding to provide comprehensive primary and preventive care services to Medicare and Medicaid recipients, as well as the uninsured.

FQHCs must meet certain standards in order to receive federal funding, including providing a sliding fee scale for patients based on income, maintaining board-certified staff, and meeting quality standards set by the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. FQHCs play a vital role in ensuring that vulnerable populations have access to high-quality, affordable health care.

What is RHC?

RHC is an acronym for Residential Habitability Certificate. You will need to obtain an RHC if you are selling or leasing a property within the City of Miami that was built before July 1, 1942.

  • The purpose of the RHC is to certify that the property meets certain minimum standards for habitability, as defined by the City of Miami. The RHC will also identify any code violations that need to be addressed before the sale or lease can be finalized.
  • To obtain an RHC, you will need to submit an application to the Building Department, along with a fee of $50. Once your application has been reviewed and approved, you will be able to schedule an inspection of the property.
  • Once the inspection has been completed and the property has been found to meet all of the required standards, you will be issued an RHC. This document must then be presented to the buyer or lessee at the time of sale or lease.

Failure to obtain an RHC prior to selling or leasing property may result in fines or other penalties. For more information on RHCs, please contact the Building Department at 305-644-4800. Thanks for choosing Miami!

Difference between FQHC and RHC

There are many types of healthcare facilities that serve different purposes. Two common types are Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) and Rural Health Clinics (RHCs). Both of these facility types provide primary and preventive care services to underserved populations. However, there are some key differences between the two facility types.

  • FQHCs are required to have a sliding fee scale, meaning that they charge patients based on their ability to pay. They also provide language assistance services and have extended evening and weekend hours. RHCs, on the other hand, are not required to have a sliding fee scale. They may also have limited hours and may not offer language assistance services.
  • Another key difference is that FQHCs must be located in a medically underserved area or serve a medically underserved population. RHCs must be located in a rural areas.
  • Both FQHCs and RHCs play an important role in providing access to quality healthcare for underserved populations. Understanding the differences between the two facility types can help patients choose the type of facility that best meets their needs.


The distinction between FQHCs and RHCs is an important one to understand as more and more healthcare moves from the traditional fee-for-service model to value-based reimbursement models. Understanding which type of clinic you are partnering with can help ensure that both you and your patients are getting the most out of your relationship.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email