difference between z

Difference between CMM and CMMI

Difference between CMM and CMMI

The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a process improvement approach that organizations can use to improve their software development processes. The CMMI was created in response to the need for a standardized model for assessing and improving software development processes. The CMM, on the other hand, is a framework that provides organizations with guidance for developing and enhancing their software engineering capabilities. Though they share some similarities, there are key differences between the CMMI and CMM. In this blog post, we will explore those differences.

What is CMM?

CMM is an initialism for Capability Maturity Model. CMM is a model for judging the capability of software organizations. It was originally developed by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) in 1986. CMM has five levels: Initial, Repeatable, Defined, Managed, and Optimizing. The highest level, Optimizing, is considered mature. CMM was originally developed for United States Department of Defense contractors, but it is now used in the private sector as well. CMM is not a silver bullet; however, it can be used to help improve software development processes. Proper use of CMM can help to improve software quality and reduce costs.

What is CMMI?

CMMI, or Capability Maturity Model Integration, is a process improvement approach that provides a framework for organizations to assess and improve their software development process. CMMI can be used to guide process improvement across a wide range of activities, from requirements gathering to quality assurance. CMMI is designed to help organizations improve their performance and product quality, and to make their processes more efficient and effective. CMMI is a registered trademark of Carnegie Mellon University.

Difference between CMM and CMMI

CMM and CMMI are two different process improvement models that are used in software development. CMM, or the Capability Maturity Model, is a linear model that has five maturity levels. These levels are: Initial, Repeatable, Defined, Managed, and Optimizing. CMMI, or the Capability Maturity Model Integration, is a non-linear model with five maturity levels. These levels are: Incomplete, Performed, Managed, Defined, and Quantitatively Managed. CMM focuses on processes, while CMMI focuses on both processes and product development. CMM is mainly used in waterfall methodology, while CMMI can be used in waterfall or agile methodology.


While both models are popular and have been used by many organizations, there is a clear distinction between the two. The Capability Maturity Model (CMM) was created in the 1990s as a way to measure and improve an organization’s ability to deliver software products that met customer expectations. On the other hand, the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) was introduced in 2000 as a framework for improving an organization’s overall performance. When it comes down to it, CMM focuses on process improvement while CMMI emphasizes organizational improvement.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email