difference between z

Difference between CCNA Security, CCNP Security, and CCIE Security

Difference between CCNA Security, CCNP Security, and CCIE Security

There are a few key differences between the CCNA Security, CCNP Security, and CCIE Security certifications. In general, the CCNA Security certification is an entry-level security certification that covers basic concepts such as firewalls, intrusion prevention systems (IPS), and secure access control lists (ACLs). The CCNP Security certification builds on the content of the CCNA Security certification and includes coverage of topics such as advanced network security threats, cryptography, VPNs, and AAA.

What is CCNA Security?

CCNA Security is a certification from Cisco that shows an individual has the skills to secure Cisco networks. CCNA Security proves an individual’s ability to understand common security threats, and how to implement various security technologies, and mitigation strategies.

  • The CCNA Security certification is aimed at entry-level network security as you suggest jobs. CCNA Security is a prerequisite for the CCNP Security and CCIE Security certifications.
  • The CCNA Security curriculum includes topics such as AAA security, IPsec, VPNs, and firewalls. To earn the CCNA Security certification, individuals must pass two exams: a core exam and a concentration exam.
  • The core exam covers general network security topics, while the concentration exam focuses on a specific area of interest such as intrusion prevention or secure wireless networking. CCNA Security is a valuable certification for anyone looking to start or further their career in network security.

What is CCNP Security?

  • CCNP Security is a Cisco-approved professional-level certification for network professionals who work with security technologies. CCNP Security certifications indicate a foundation in network security, including the ability to manage secure data and devices, identify threats and vulnerabilities, and mitigate security threats.
  • CCNP Security certifications are valid for three years. To maintain CCNP Security certification, candidates must pass one exam every three years. CCNP Security examinations test candidates’ knowledge of secure data and device management, identify threats and vulnerabilities and mitigate security threats.
  • CCNP Security certification examinations are available through Pearson VUE testing centers worldwide. Candidates must have a valid CCNA Routing and Switching or any CCIE certification to qualify for CCNP Security certification.

What is CCIE Security?

CCIE Security is a Cisco certification that covers a wide range of topics related to network security. The CCIE Security exam covers topics such as router and switch security, Firewalls, Intrusion Detection, and Prevention Systems, VPNs, and more. In order to obtain the CCIE Security certification, candidates must pass two exams: the CCIE wrote the exam and the CCIE lab exam. The CCIE lab exam is an eight-hour practical exam that tests a candidate’s ability to configure and troubleshoot Cisco networking devices. The CCIE Security certification is one of the most sought-after networking certifications in the world.

Difference between CCNA Security, CCNP Security, and CCIE Security

  • CCNA Security, CCNP Security, and CCIE Security are all different types of certification programs offered by Cisco. CCNA Security is entry-level and focuses on the basics of network security.
  • CCNP Security is more advanced and covers topics such as VPNs, intrusion detection, and firewalls. CCIE Security is the most advanced level of certification and requires candidates to have a deep understanding of network security principles.
  • The CCIE Security exam is also the most difficult to pass. All three certification programs are designed to help candidates learn how to secure Cisco networks.


The answer lies in the depth of knowledge and expertise required to pass each certification exam. To become a CCNA Security certified professional, you need to have a good understanding of basic security concepts and be able to deploy secure networks. To achieve CCNP Security certification, you must be able to design, implement, optimize and troubleshoot Cisco security solutions. And finally, in order to obtain the highly coveted CCIE Security certification, you must possess an expert-level understanding of all aspects of network security.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email