difference between z

Difference between ABEC 5 and ABEC 7

Difference between ABEC 5 and ABEC 7

ABEC stands for Annular Bearing Engineering Committee, and is a performance grading system for bearings. The ABEC scale goes from 1 to 9, with 1 being the lowest quality and 9 being the highest. There are three main differences between ABEC 5 and ABEC 7 bearings: noise, vibration, and durability. ABEC 7 bearings are typically much quieter than ABEC 5 bearings, they vibrate less, and they last longer. If you’re looking for a high-quality bearing that will perform better and last longer than a lower-grade option, go for an ABEC 7 bearing.

What is ABEC 5?

ABEC 5 is the fifth highest level of accuracy defined by the Annular Bearing Engineering Committee. To meet ABEC 5 standards, a bearing must have tight tolerances for both inner and outer diameters, as well as precise roundness and sphericity. This level of accuracy is necessary for bearings that will be used in high-speed applications. In order to achieve ABEC 5 tolerances, manufacturers must use very precise manufacturing methods and highly skilled workers. As a result, ABEC 5 bearings are typically more expensive than bearings that meet lower levels of accuracy. However, for applications wherebearing performance is critical, ABEC 5 bearings offer the best possible performance.

What is ABEC 7?

ABEC 7 is a designation given to bearings that meet certain standards for hardness, precision, and tolerance. ABEC stands for Annular Bearing Engineers Committee, and the ABEC scale goes from 1 to 9, with 1 being the lowest level of precision and 9 being the highest. Bearings that meet ABEC 7 standards are considered to be very precise, with low levels of vibration and lower rates of wear. As a result, ABEC 7 bearings are often used in high-performance applications where smooth operation is critical. However, it is important to note that ABEC ratings do not necessarily indicate the quality of a bearing; rather, they indicate the level of precision. Therefore, a bearing with an ABEC 7 rating may not necessarily be better than one with an ABEC 5 rating. When choosing bearings for a particular application, it is important to consult with an expert to ensure that you are selecting the best possible option.

Difference between ABEC 5 and ABEC 7

ABEC is the ABMA’s (American Bearing Manufacturer’s Association) rating system for the precision of bearings. It is comprised of five categories, with ABEC 1 being the lowest precision and ABEC 9 being the highest. The ABEC scale is primarily used in the skateboarding industry, as faster speeds and more challenging tricks put greater demands on bearings. ABEC 5 and ABEC 7 are two of the most common ratings for skateboard bearings. ABEC 5 bearings are less precise than ABEC 7 bearings, but they are also less expensive. As a result, they are a good choice for beginner and intermediate skaters. ABEC 7 bearings offer better performance, but they come at a higher price point. They are often preferred by experienced skaters who are looking for an edge on the competition.


ABEC ratings are a measure of the tolerances of bearings. The higher the rating, the tighter the tolerances. This means that ABEC 7 bearings are made to a higher standard than ABEC 5 bearings. They will perform better and last longer in most applications. If you need precision performance in your application, then you should choose an ABEC 7 bearing.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email